Dalbeattie 10K Half Marathon 2016

Dalbeattie 10K Half Marathon 2016

Frank's Valentine Run 2017

Frank's Valentine Run 2017

Dentdale 2017

Dentdale 2017

Criffel Hill Race 2017

Criffel Hill Race 2017

Devil Takes the Hindmost 2017

Devil Takes the Hindmost 2017

Club Kit Available

A range of Club Kit is available. Click here for details...

News items and Articles

To submit news items and articles for inclusion on the website, please email the News Team at news@dumfriesrunningclub.org.uk

DRC Grand Prix Competition

The latest standings in the Club Grand Prix competition can be found here:

  Grand Prix Tables
London Marathon 2016

London Marathon 2016

Highland Fling Relay 2016

Highland Fling Relay 2016

Moffat 15k 2016

Moffat 15k 2016

Screel Hill Race 2017

Screel Hill Race 2017

Santa Run 2017

Santa Run 2017

Moffat Festival of Running


On Tuesday, whilst most people sensibly enjoyed the warm sunshine by sunbathing or relaxing in the heat, 29 Dumfries Running Club members took on the challenge of the Moffat Festival of Running 9.3 mile race...

This longstanding and popular local event is really three in one. Starting at the Ram statue the first section is a flattish 3 miles before a mile of rough track with 200m climb close to the Devil’s Beeftub. The reward then for tired runners is over 4 miles of downhill running on the A701 back to Moffat. This year however, the high temperatures added an extra degree of difficulty, but there was still fierce competition for points as the race was a counter in the club’s annual Grand Prix championship.

The race winner was John French of Eden Harriers in 54:27 with Steven Smith the first DRC finisher in second place overall in an outstanding return to form in 56:14 with Alan Baxter 3rd in a superb 58:29.

Graeme Cross had another good run in 8th place in 60:37 heading off Jacob Tangey by less than 200 metres with Terry McCloskey close behind in 61:29. Richard Beck had another positive run in 13th place in 62:03 and after a spell of injury Sandy Shankland was thoroughly delighted to cross the line in 66:24.

John Green ran strongly in 69:40 to finish sixteen seconds ahead of Sebastian Pflanz whilst Craig Malcolmson ran a canny race in 70:23 with Alastair Bloxham in 71:12.

Maximum Grand Prix points went to a delighted Sian Finlay as first DRC lady in 71:36 with David Burns welcoming a resurgence in form close behind in 71:50. Peter McGill had a very good run in 72:56 as did Maureen Dickson in 75:38.

Newcomer Callum Walker, despite a very fast start, ran well in 76:30 and in her first club race Amy Beck outlined her potential with a strong run in 77:43, as did Nuria Blazquez less than 30 seconds behind. Frank Skachill ran a steady race in 79:00 with Theresa Lavery, despite a tiring swim session earlier in the day as part of her training for an upcoming triathlon, running very well in 81:24.

Debutant Scott Pitkeathly in 82:26 finished alongside a tiring Mo Khan whilst Alison Groat in 84:25 was just over a minute in front of Jim Grierson. Margaret Gray made good use of her recent hill training to run a steady well paced race in 91:24.

Steve McQueen in 95:57 was hampered by a sore calf muscle that needed treatment early in the race but he was encouraged and paced round by Fiona Jardine who slowed slightly in the final stages to finish in 97:32. In a typical example of perseverance and commitment Margaret Laurie was delighted to get round in 102:47.

Many thanks are due to over a dozen present and past club members who were out on the course to encourage and support the runners in difficult conditions for distance running.

Results here: 2013 Moffat Festival of Running results

DRC results as follows:

2 Steven Smith 56:14

3 Alan Baxter 58:29

8 Graeme Cross 60:37

10 Jacob Tangey 61:10

11 Terry McCloskey 61:29

13 Richard Beck 62:03

29 Sandy Shankland 66:24

39 John Green 69:40

41 Sebastian Pflanz 69:56

43 Craig Malcolmson 70:23

46 Alistair Bloxham 71:12

48 Sian Finlay 71:36

50 David Burns 71:50

52 Peter McGill 72:56

64 Maureen Dickson 75:38

67 Callum Walker 76:30

72 Amy Beck 77:43

73 Nuria Blazquez 78:10

76 Frank Skachill 79:00

83 Theresa Lavery 81:24

92 Scott Pitkeathly 82:26

93 Mohammed Khan 82:27

99 Alison Groat 84:25

102 Jim Grierson 85:32

115 Margaret Gray 91:24

126 Steve McQueen 95:57

127 Fiona Jardine 97:32

130 Margaret Laurie 102:47


News Archive