• Club Kit Available

    A range of Club Kit is available. Click here for details...


  • 2014 Club Champions

    Congratulations to new club champions Steven Smith and Mhairi Duff (with runners-up Alan Baxter and Amy Beck)

  • News items and Articles

    To submit news items and articles for inclusion on the website, please email the News Team at news@dumfriesrunningclub.org.uk

  • Grand Prix

    After the penultimate race for 2014, Lisa and Steven remain as leaders in the Grand Prix... click link for latest tables, Grand Prix Tables 2014 

  • Hill Champions

    Congratulations to the 2014 Hill Champions - Alan Baxter and Jo Zakrzewski!

Dumfries Running Club

Brampton to Carlisle 10


It was a icy morning when 25 DRC runners left Dumfries to take on the last road race in the 2012 Grand Prix, but by the time the race started at 11:30 conditions had warmed slightly to make it great day out for the runners...

There was little wind and only a few spots of rain and hail as they joined the field of 541 to run the 10 miles from Brampton to Carlisle. The race title was retained by Jared Hagos of Wallsend in 50:28, while Jo Zakrzewski brought the ladies' title home with a margin of more than 3.5 minutes over the second placed lady.

The on course support from Doug Brown, Les Hill and David Breen encouraged many fine perfomances, including several PBs throughout the club, and the battle for GP points was contested nowhere more keenly than between David and Jacob, as their sprint battle for the line almost took out several barriers. Other noteable results were Maureen Dickson finishing as first LV50, and Alasdair Stapleton as 3rd Junior man. The DRC men finished as 7th team (8th vet team), while the ladies were 5th team (7th vet team).

Club results are as follows:

29  David Parrish        58:40

30  Jacob Tangey       58:41

38  Jo Zakrzewski       59:36

39  Alan Baxter           59:48

53  Graeme Cross       61:26

60  Adam Dickie          62:29

90  Sandy Shankland  64:46

98 Alasdair Stapleton  65:35

119 Ranjit Thomas      66:47

137 Allan Manson       68:25

141 Alistair Bloxham   68:34

166 Ross Queen         69:58

184 John Green          71:26

185 Stephen Mohan   71:37

200 Sarah Queen       72:31

201 Danny Queen      72:32

227 Peter McGill          73:54

245 Frank Skachill       74:32

246 Maureen Dickson 74:37

277 Chris Wilson        76:24

366 Tom Davidson      81:51

471 Peter Hutchison   90:19

514 Maggie Gray        97:38

517 Jo Needham        98:09

518 Donald Anson      98:19